Initiation Into Hermetics Beginners Tips

I get these questions sometimes, and I see alot of would be practitioners out there struggle with getting past the first few steps of Initiation Into Hermetics, and to be honest – I can see why.

The material itself is not very digestible, linguistic wise, and there’s a lot of “elitist” out there who would rather have these aspirants figure it out or quit. Overall, help is not something that is given so freely and there is so few of us who are willing to help.

I also do not want to hold an aspirants hands through the steps – it took me a while as well but I eventually figured it out so instead of doing a step by step guide, I would rather give out some tips that can help advance an aspirant along the path.

With that said, I might ruffle some “pure” Bardonians out there with these tips…..

  1. Be Patient: Don’t be in a rush. If you are trying to learn magick because there is an emergency that magick can resolve, don’t bother – it’s not going to work out for you. If you hit a plateau, take a step back, do other things, then go back to the material. I find that re-visiting a step after stepping back and doing other things gives a new perspective.
  2. Don’t Be Stuck On Meditation: It helps lower and control the noise, which is needed to do inner alchemy and connect to subtle energies out there but this is not necessary for magick; a cool, calm, focused mind is what is mostly needed. Do the exercises but do not get hung up on it. It’s a lifelong learning process to enjoy meditation to its’ fullest extent.
  3. Start Doing The Elemental Energy Exercise: Step IV is Bardons version of the Western Middle Pillar/Eastern Kundalini. Start doing this exercise as soon as you can. This is where your foundation for your magick is.
  4. Authority: The B&W Soul Mirrors – not many people ask about this exercise, and I’d like to assume because they are doing this in private but I think not many are doing this at all, and are so stuck on the meditation steps that they don’t realize how important this step is. Not only does this exercise mentally balance your elemental makeup (which coincidentally helps balance your spiritual makeup as well) but it also strengthens your “authority” in magick (spiritual authority, true will, whatever you want to call it). This is actually quite important as it affects your energy work, working with entities, etc.
  5. Be Flexible: Read and explore other traditions. I’ve had many paths and many masters on this journey (figurative masters, I’ve only had 1 real master in my life) and all those things helped me figure out things in IIH and think of new ideas on how to approach and study this book.

IIH is a flexible, and quite a powerful book of initiation for aspirants. I want more practitioners to enjoy this book and be able to explore the other books that Bardon wrote. Hope these tips help you as they have helped me in my journey.

4 thoughts on “Initiation Into Hermetics Beginners Tips

  1. Don’t be in a rush. If you are trying to learn magick because there is an emergency that magick can resolve, don’t bother – it’s not going to work out for you.

    This many times over. If a person things their issues are bad now, wait till spiritual forces are added in the mix. add to problems. Not resolve them.

    1. I just want to portray a realistic scenario when approaching IIH (or magick in general). TBH, there are other systems and traditions of magick that are accessible to deal with emergencies that require a less intensive training than iih provides.

  2. Pro tips. I get upset when I see people trying to use initiatory Golden Dawn rituals to banish Goetic entities, or other general nasties.
    Bardon Makes Magicians. ‘Nuff said.

    1. I think sometimes, because they are so new, and the “Hermetic” label is applied to both practices. They tend to supplement each other thinking it’s some sort of modular practice.

Leave a Reply

