My Own System Of Divination

In keeping with my goal(s) this year to solidify my practices, I decided to employ my own system of astragalomancy (dice divination in laymens terms I suppose).

Throughout this journey, I’ve employed many a systems of divination to soothe my needs; I’ve gone from the traditional geomancy, to the somewhat exotic flavours of mo divination, to various flavours of cartomancy and towards the ever so predominant pendulum divinations.

To be honest though, I never really “grooved” with any of the systems I mentioned above, the way I felt I should have; and to be fair, maybe I didn’t spend enough time to learn the system and there are many wonderful techniques I missed out in the more advanced sections of systems but I can tell if I am hooked to something or not, and sadly, I was not for the most part.

Mind you, I did like certain aspects of some of the systems I worked with and it probably shows in my system of divination as I took all the things I liked from the others, and made it my own.

To be fair, this is probably where I am heading with all of my techniques.

It’s not like I dropped all of the systems I work with; pendulum, omens, bibliomancy are systems that I still work with when I need another angle but my system is the one I’ve been using for the most part, even with clients, and to a startling success. I really thought I would have to break it in a little bit before I’ve gotten the results that I wanted.

So here’s the breakdown as to why I decided to go this way;

I didn’t want long, complicated, tiresome “ritualistic” methods. I tried to stay away from a binary sort of interaction. I didn’t want a “set” style of divinations outcome.

I really love dices – it’s something that has been a part of me for the longest time, even pre-sorcery years so I knew I had to incorporate that. Dices are one of the reasons I end up gravitating towards geomancy and mo as well. It worked out for me because I wanted something compact, didn’t want a layout extensive sort of system like in cartomancy.

I then wanted an intuitive divination system.

I didn’t like the systems where it gave me the results (or had a predetermined dictionary I had to check with) already because for the most part, it didn’t fit with what I felt like the narrative of how the reading is going. Some readings just felt like it didn’t fit with what was going on, I ran to this issue for the most part with mo but in general as well. I wanted a flexible system.

I also wanted a system that flows better with my own foundational system, which is Bardons Hermetics so I ended up thinking about this aspect when I was working on its’ creation.

I also wanted as much information as possible, and in a way that I approach things.

So I ended up creating a 5 dice astragalomancy system that is compact, flexible, and can work with the past, present and the future.

I’m really happy with it, maybe I’ll write about it one of these days when I feel like I’ve really dug in it. It’s been great working with past issues but I feel like I can do some more work with it in regards to future divination.

Leave a Reply

